Do you love games? Join our mailing list and receive the ones our students love most (Math Murder Mystery and The Amazing Math Race)! Click now

I love playing games, whether it is a game of Candy Land with my kids, or a hand of Euker or Wizard so I love bringing games into my classroom.

It is boring to play the same games again and again so I am constantly trying to think of new ones. How can I use musical chairs in my Algebra 1 room? 

Teacher Directions:

  • Place the chairs in the center of your room.
  • Turn on music (I used Youtube). We played this at Christmas and Halloween. At Halloween I played the Monster Mash and Spooky Skeletons. This was a student request.
  • Stop the music and have students who are sitting in a chair solve a problem on the board.
  • If students solved a math problem incorrectly, they were taken out of the game with the students who didn’t have a chair.

What do you do with students once they are out? I split them into two teams to begin the game. Once out they went to the right side or left side of the room. They raced against each other and the winning team chose someone from the other side to be out of the game.

Note:  I took out two chairs at a time because I have large classes (31 students). Otherwise, we may not have finished a game.

How would you modify this?  If you try it, please leave a comment and let us know how it goes!

Want more ideas like this? Yes, send me free activities like this every week!