Do you want engaging math activities sent to you every week? Click Now!

You can have this game ready to play in ten minutes or less! We played this on Thursday and when students walked in, I heard, “Yes, we’re playing this again!

Step 1: Take a large piece of paper, fold it in half and in half again. Then trace your lines with a dark marker to make the coordinate plane. I added in an asymptote and a growth function; however, you don’t need these.

img_3428

Step 2:  Post problems around your classroom – I chose this option so students were up and moving. I just wrote them on paper (not typed) and taped them to my wall. You could also have them working off a worksheet, type problems on a Google Document and post it to your LMS (Edmodo, Google Classroom, etc).

img_3430

Step 3: Students will solve problems (we used mini-white boards but they could have just used paper). Mine worked in their groups of 3-4. Once they solved a problem, they checked in with me. If it was correct, they were able to take a piece of paper to the large graph. They taped to any of the quadrants, the asymptote or the growth function. If you don’t want to draw a graph, you could also have them tape to the axes. I had some groups with the same color paper so they wrote their names on them. You could also give each group a different shape if you wanted to use just white paper.

img_3431

Step 4: I stopped with 5 minutes left in the period, had students finish solving their current problem, check it with me and tape up their last paper. On post-its, I had written 100, 1000, 5000, 10000, -1000, and -5000. We randomly drew to see the point value for each location they could have taped. Groups tallied up their points and I had a small prize for the winners.

img_3432

Students will strategize: I had some groups only tape to one location and I had others tape everywhere or two locations. The more problems they solve, the more chances they have to tape a piece for their team so it really motivates them to work efficiently.

 

Want more ideas like this, join our mailing list and have one idea sent to your inbox each week!

Yes, I want free activities every week!