Want more activities like the one below? Yes, then join our mailing list!

On craft sticks, I wrote monomials, binomials, trinomials and polynomials – one per stick. I wrote 7 of each type.

polynomialed#2

I made 8 sets as students will play in groups of 4. I wrote each set with a different colored sharpie.

On 3 sticks, I wrote polynomialed.

polynomialed

Students will randomly choose a craft stick. They will identify it by name (monomial, binomial, trinomial, or polynomial.) If they name it correctly, they will keep the stick. If they choose a stick with “polynomialed” on it, they will have to return any sticks collected back to their bag.

We will play for a certain amount of time and whoever has the most sticks at the end, will win. This would be great for a quick warm-up.

Possible Modifications –

  • You’ve been integered, write integer problems for students to simplify on each of the sticks.
  • You’ve been factored, write a type of factoring problem on each craft stick.

Want more ideas like this, join our mailing list. Yes, I want activities like this sent to me each week!