I spend a lot of time finding and thinking of new ways to have my students up and moving. If you are interested in more ways of doing that, then join our mailing list now by clicking here. 

The outfit is optional 🙂

 

How to run this activity in your class? I purchased a treasure chest; however, you could just print one or project one on your smart board.

Treasure chest

Next, I purchased two locks with 3 number combinations. Mine were two of the ones shown below: I locked one through the treasure chest and one through the other lock.

six-luggage-locks

We are currently working on factoring. Here is a sample of my activity.

Give them a problem set:

  • Factor out the GCF:  14x³ – 2x² + 8x  and g^4 + 24g³+12g²+4g
  • Next give them clue one for lock #1.
  • Add the coefficients together from the GCF from problem set #1. This is the second number in the combination.
  • Give them the next problem set.
  • Give them the next clue.
  • Repeat steps until they have the combinations for both locks.

 

Once they crack the treasure chest, it there is a note that says, “Thank for taking a peak, now you may have a PEEP. If you don’t want a Peep, you may have one of the eggs I have laid.”

I have both Peeps and Cadbury Eggs for prizes.

 

Do you want more activities like this, join our mailing list by clicking here now.